iseyz

The ARG of PWN

by on Apr.01, 2008, under weirded

Take a look at the screen shot below and let me know if something looks out of place:


(click to enlarge)

http://argn.com

While looking for info on the Conspiracy Asylum ARG last night I visited ARGNet.com. I don’t usually click ads, but the black banner is kind of hard to miss so I clicked it. It takes you to a flash sequence on http://exposethegrid.com with a winged-snake being and messages about world peace and hijacking the media machine. Interesting… After the flash finishes, it dumps you to here.

Okay, so it is April Fool’s day. Conspiracy Asylum probably bought a banner ad on ARGNet to launch a new case. I go to Unfiction.com to see if they have any info. It is almost 3am and I start to think I am hallucinating:


(click to enlarge)

http://unfiction.com

The same banner is on Unfiction! For some reason, the one on Unfiction is not clickable – it is just an image. Then I realize that the banner on ARGNet is not an ad banner, they were hacked. Actually, “cracked” is the correct term. It doesn’t look like the hacker who did this gained full access to the servers but they were able to insert some code for the image.

The art, or should I say, “The ARG of PWN” ;)

But then I start to get paranoid that the hacker might have put some malware on the site and infected my computer. So, I run all three sites through both Exploit Prevention Labs link checker tool and SpyBye.org.

http://linkscanner.explabs.com/linkscanner/default.asp

http://www.spybye.org/

All three come up clean. Whew! There is some weird stuff on Expose the Grid, like a link to a real government site called Darpa. There is also a link for hacked files but it is password protected. Anyways, I need to get some sleep. I’ll do some more digging tomorrow.

Popularity: 73% [?]


6 Comments for this entry

  • wooded_eyes

    It looks like both of them are gone now, though, right?
    But that is really weird. Especially what the website says.

    I’m seriously inclined to write these guys off as loonies, but something seems very different here… Hm.

  • Sean

    I’m a bit of a loony myself ;)

    It is strange that the image is gone but neither of the sites have issued any kind of statement. If it were some sort of April Fool’s publicity stunt for the Conspiracy Asylum ARG, you’d think they would have left the banners up.

  • HLM

    Too bad I missed it.

  • Jonathan Waite

    The reason there’s no statement is because this is fake. We’ll have an official statement within the hour.

  • umberhulk8

    So, ARGNet wasn’t hacked? Here is the statement

  • Sean

    Hax0rz. My new favorite word! What I’m wondering is if the person who placed those images on the site was just testing out the hole they found and then pulled them off quickly. They did it at a time when nobody would be visiting.

    The only other explanation is that ARGNet put them up themselves. Chances of that are about nil considering the article. Is the Jonathan above actually from ARGNet?

Leave a Reply

 

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Blogroll

A few highly recommended websites...